Previous Item - Next Item

Mariah.

Mariah, Mariah, Mariah...

Oh, I had such high hopes for you. I wanted to knit your luscious pattern with your interest-keeping cables coupled with your mindless Stockinette, and end up with the perfect Winter sweater, complete with zipper.

BUT.

The yarn is too drapey for me to have knitted this back and forth from front center to front center, instead of in 3 pieces as back and 2 front halves. In other words, the knitted fabric needs side seams.

And I wanted it to turn out to be 40 inches, and it's like 44. Yikes.

And the sleeves... My row gauge was way off (it always is, which usually doesn't matter, but when you have a finite amount of vertical repeats over a whole sleeve, and when the repeats are a huge number of rows, it MATTERS!) so I had to fudge and take out like a whole cable repeat on the sleeve.

AND you'll note the lighter area about mid-yoke up. That's a different dyelot of the black Cotton-Ease that I was using. Thanks, Lion Brand for being so good at making your dyelots match even a little bit.

Awesome.

I have worn her, but I don't like her that much. I wear her sans zipper, even though I bought one for her because I think that maybe someday I might rip this yarn out and knit her again.

Maybe with a chunky ribbed button band? And a higher collar for sure. And knit the size 38" instead of 40". And knit the body in 3 pieces. Whew.

Previous Item - Next Item

RECENTLY COMPLETED

CCK Numero Uno. - 2005-05-15
Ms. Lacy Pulli. - 2005-05-06
Weenie Warmer. - 2005-04-28
Psychedelic Squares Afghan. - 2005-04-28
Mariah. - 2005-04-27

ARCHIVES

Complete Gallery

LINKS

Back to My Blog

Diaryland ROCKS!